when in march this year i first had the desire to have my own blogspot i thought in my mind that i needed an outlet to express my thoughts(i didn’t care whether somebody would read it or not) all i wanted was to write down my thoughts…… not about my family though……. i donot want write about my sons or my daily life………. i want to write about the most inner thoughts that stays most part at the back of my mind……as my family takes the front part………. iam not saying that family would never be mentioned…….. iam quiet sure they will come up more than i want them to be……..ad they are my life……
my intention is or was to write about how as an indian staying in U.S.for the past almost 9yrs has revolved me as an individual…… how i see this country thru my immigrant eyes…….. the ups and downs of our(me and my husband’s) decision to settle here without any family at all in this country and to bring up our kids all by ourselves, where help can be found only in long distance calls to India or email………..sure we have made a few friends here….. but nobody to lean on to…..
How today i remember my first friend after coming here for only a month…. Oprah…..yes the talk show host………. every weekdays how i used to sit in front of the sofa with a cup of chai at 40’clock every afternoon to watch her and meet all the different kind o people in her show…….she is still my friend………. i do watch her 2-3 times a week……….. how can i forget my 1st american friend………
now i have made a few friends who really sit in front of me drink my chai with me……………whom i can talk back………..
the past 9yrs has been a journey by itself…….. moving different places…..wherever my husband’s job took us……from Erie,PA to Sacramento to Sandiego to Orange county, staying in different apartments…..having my first born in Erie, with nobody around…….coming back from the hospital to the empty apartment scared to death how are we going to raise this child all by ourselves………then one day at a time days passed my son growing and we moving and making friends wherever we are going and losing touch after leaving the place………. then having my second child in Sandiego…………more responsibilites and less sleep……….. those days passes too(sleepless days not the reponsibilites….)
and now we are buying a house, opened escrow this monday……. if everything goes well we will be setting our roots………. never would have believed 9yrs before when we first set our foot in JFK……..
what a journey!!!!!!! and more to come……….. loving it looking forward to it…………..

