one 5thThis books was supposed to be my in between read as I’m working my way up on “The Pillars Of The Earth”.Apparently I finished it early…because the past two days I have been going through some sleeplessness (no, not insomnia), so what can I do quietly but read a book? I didn’t want to read anything heavy so I kept on reading “One Fifth Avenue” and finished it.
“Sex in the City goes middle-aged and mordant in Bushnell’s chronicle of writers, actors and Wall Street whizzes clashing at One Fifth Avenue, a Greenwich Village art deco jewel crammed with regal rich, tarty upstarts and misguided lovers. When a ‘Queen of Society’ dies, a vicious scramble for her penthouse apartment ensues, and it’s attorney Annalisa and her hedge-funder husband, Paul Rice, who land the palatial pad, roiling the building’s rivalries. There’s Billy Litchfield, an art dealer who slobbers over the wealthy; strivers Mindy and James Gooch, and their tech-savvy 13-year-old Sam, the most hilariously bitter (and strangely successful) family in the building; gossip columnist Enid Merle and her screenwriter nephew, Philip Oakland, who struggle to uphold traditions and their souls; actress Schiffer Diamond, who lands a hit TV series, and her old love; and Lola Fabrikant, a cunning Atlanta gold digger whose greatest ambition is to become Carrie Bradshaw. And then there are so many others outside “One fifth Avenue” who are some how related to the inhabitants of the building.


There are so many characters and each one written in first person, that in the beginning it becomes confusing.The  writing is very simple and just basic storyline.It’s kind of modern day fairytale very unimaginative and mertitless.

I read this passage between the Pulitzer Prize-winning author Philip and his lover-to-be Lola:

Every girl wants to get married now. And they want to do it while they’re young.”

“I thought they wanted to have careers and take over the world by thirty.”

“That was older Gen Y,” Lola said. “All the girls I know want to get married have kids right away.”

Supposedly, girls my age want to marry young so that they don’t end up unhappy like their mothers. Could there be a more uninformed conclusion.

The upper class lifestyle that Bushnell describes is too superficial and artificial for me to really appreciate it. The book provided some entertainment, but I never felt satisfied or happy when putting the book down..it seems so bland without any real engagement or confliction of the characters, these characters certainly do not represent the whole upperclass New York, maybe a part of it…… but New York is certainly more than that.
I would recommend this book as a beach read or if you rally want to read something light as a mind candy go for it…..donot spend your money to get the book, borrow it.

