blue pen

About the Book:(As told by the author)

Parker didn’t expect to find his next great magazine story sleeping off a hangover in the back seat of his car. The homeless woman, Cleo, says she never wakes after dawn, which makes Parker curious. His intuition for finding a unique story is buzzing after meeting Cleo, and he decides to interview her to find out what drove her to live on the streets.
Cleo explains how the early death of her first love set the path for her life. She withdraws from the world after he dies, only to re-enter it by going to a strange club called the Beacon. At the underground club, the patrons channel spirits on the improv stage and share psychic readings in the room behind the beaded curtain. While Cleo describes her spiritual awakening, Parker wonders if she actually fell prey to mental illness.
Because of a first article Parker wrote about Cleo, another reporter is after the story, blackmailing Parker to give it up. Parker must decide how to keep his story and not let Cleo down in the process.
 

 

 

 

Chat With Lisa  Rusczyk-Author:

What was your Inspiration of writing “The Blue Pen”:A E Book?

 

I have a personal interest in exploring the similarities of the paranormal and symptoms of mental illness. I wondered if I could ever live on the streets and the book started as a short story exploring that idea. Red wine didn’t hurt with inspiration, either!

Did you come across any roadblocks or snags while writing it?

 

Yes, many. I wasn’t quite sure where it was going for a long time. It took five years of writing it on and off to finally complete it.

 

Did you have to do any research while writing?How did that impact the book?

 

I researched Powelton Village and found an interesting history. During the time Cleo lived in Powelton Village, there was an incident involving a police raid of a house there. Several people were killed. It was very controversial. I wondered about mentioning it in the book, and had it in there at one point, but took it out because it didn’t have anything to do with Cleo’s tale. Other than that, I looked into dates of songs I referenced, that sort of thing, to make sure the timeline was correct.

1.What is your favorite aspect of The Blue Pen?

 

I think the Beacon is my favorite part. I would like to go there in real life.

2.Is this your first book? What other books have you written?

 

The Blue Pen was the fifth book I had written, and I have written six now. Three of my other books are going to be published with Club Lighthouse Publishing, my publisher, in the next few months: two in a series of urban fantasy called Sam the Night Person and Full Moon in December, and one young adult fantasy called A Dream of the Past.

3.When is The Blue Pen coming out and if it is already out , we would like to know…

 

The Blue Pen came out in February of 2009 and is available at my publisher’s Web site, http://www.clublighthousepublishing.com/ under general fiction, and at many other Ebook sites. It is also available on Amazon’s Kindle. My publisher only does Ebooks, so I had a paperback version made of the book for friends and family who don’t like to read on the computer or who don’t have an Ereader. That can be found at http://www.lulu.com/content/paperback-book/the-blue-pen/7041564.

4.We readers always like to know what kind of book do you read and who are your favorite authors..

 

I like to read almost anything, from horror to fantasy to mysteries to general fiction to science fiction. What gets me most into a book is interesting writing and good characters. If a book has that, I’ll like it. Some of my favorite writers are John Steinbeck, Stephen King, Jonathan Kellerman, Michael Crichton, Laura Lippman, and Jodi Picoult.

5.What are your goals now that you have finished The Blue Pen?

 

I have three novels in the works right now. One that’s almost finished is a middle grade fantasy about cats. Another is about twins with mental illness. The third is a sequel to A Dream of the Past. I also work as a ghost writer.

6.Anything else you would like to share with our readers?

 

I appreciate all of you who took the time to read this and I would be happy to answer any of your questions. I also want to offer hope to aspiring writers who haven’t been published – keep at it and I bet you’ll get there someday. It took me ten years.

 My  Review:

Lisa gives us an exciting setting and some really  eccentric  and adventureous characters, I was totally engrossed in this story,that I finished it up within 3hrs.. I recommend this book to all fiction lovers.

IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO KNOW MORE ABOUT LISA AND HER BOOKS VISIT HER AT:
http://lisarusczyk.blogspot.com/

Checkout “The blue Pen”‘s review at Amazon here:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Blue-Pen/product-reviews/B001VA1PCK/ref=cm_cr_dp_all_summary?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1&sortBy=bySubmissionDateDescending

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
