Throwback Thursday – this is a weekly event hosted by Jenny. It is the time each week to recognize those older books… an older book you’ve always wanted to read, or one that you have read and love; maybe one from your childhood; or review an older book — how about even a classic! Leave a comment here or if you have a blog pls. leave your link….throwbackThursdayBlue

My Throwback:

Journey To The Center of The Earth by Jules Verne

Plot:14725568

Axel is quite at home with rocks. Perhaps this is because he lives with his eccentric but brilliant uncle, the geologist and adventurer Professor Lidenbrock. Usually, his uncle’s adventures are odd, but not completely insane. That is until a runic note falls from a text that Professor Lidenbrock is reading. The note becomes the key to a quest that may lead them the very center of the earth. The pair departs immediately for Iceland, hiring Hans Bjelke as a guide. They follow the instructions on the note and do indeed find a passage into the earth. There, they experience a number of wonders and frights far beyond what they have ever imagined. They pass through a chamber with flammable gas and use acoustic phenomenon to talk to each other while they are miles apart. They continue on and find an ocean. They cross the ocean, only to witness two dinosaurs attacking each other. Then, they see a herd of dinosaurs walk by a prehistoric man over twelve feet tall. The travelers begin to leave, only to be stopped by a caved-in tunnel. They blast their way through and are rushed out of the volcano in a pool of water and magma. They return to their home in Germany and are greeted with joy and treated famously.
When I first read this book in 6th grade… I loved it..the descriptions and characterizations were wonderful,the story was absorbing and adventurous….but when I took this book out of my shelf  last night and started reading it again just for fun…it seemed boring and and some parts were, I think,  forced to be exciting!!!!!   overall they were quiet lame… I was surprised with my impression of the book, how it chnaged over the years… maybe it’s my age.. or theb book was always lame!!!!! Has this ever happened to anybody, where once you thought abook to be exciting and you loved it, then after many years when you go back to the book, it has nothing to offer? It really made me sad… I wish I  kept my 6th grader memory, instead of trying to regain the memory….
