JacketSummary:

In the dawning light of a late-summer morning, the people of lower Manhattan stand hushed, staring up in disbelief at the Twin Tower..  It is August 1974, and a mysterious tightrope walker is running, dancing, leaping between the towers, suspended a quarter mile above the ground. In the streets below, a slew of ordinary lives become extraordinary in bestselling novelist Colum McCann’s stunningly intricate portrait of a city and its people.  Let the Great World Spin is the critically acclaimed author’s most ambitious novel yet: a dazzlingly rich vision of the pain, loveliness, mystery, and promise of New York City  in the 1970s.  Corrigan, a radical young Irish monk, struggles with his own demons as he lives among the prostitutes in the middle of the burning Bronx.   A group of mothers gather in a Park Avenue apartment to mourn their sons who died in Vietnam, only to discover just how much divides them even in grief. A young artist finds herself at the scene of a hit-and-run that sends her own life careening sideways.  Tillie, a thirty-eight-year-old grandmother, turns tricks alongside her teenage daughter, determined not only to take care of her family but to prove her own worth.

MY REVIEW:

About this book I have read such great reviews, i think in almost every renowned sites and editorials, even from my friends……alas, this book is just not for me…..

I didn’t like the style of writing.  Instead of being a novel, to me,  it seemed a collection of random events or thoughts muddled togather tied up with one or two centralized themes.  It didn’t really hook me. I found myself drowned in very dense narrative and dialogue crammed with detail, emotions and personalities. Yes, this combination is exactly what serious readers long for–but in this case I felt no real connection. A very time consuming and labor intensive reading experience.

I loved the concept of this book, but just did not and could not get passed the prose it was written in.

Here’s a sample of the writing which, again, just made me glaze over: 

“Goodness was more difficult than evil. Evil men knew that more than good men. That’s why they became evil. They’s why it stuck with them. Evil was for those who could never each the truth. It was a mask for stupidity and lack of love…”

The novel was not illustrative for me. 

Given the other glowing reviews, it’s probably worth checking out.  I seem to be in the minority.

