bill_walker_photoAbout Bill Walker:

Bill Walker is a graphic designer specializing in book and dust jacket design, and has worked on projects by Ray Bradbury, Richard Matheson, Dean Koontz, and Stephen King. Between his design work and his writing, he spends his spare time reading voraciously and playing very loud guitar, much to the chagrin of his lovely wife and two sons. Bill makes his home in Los Angeles and can be reached through his web site: http://www.billwalkerdesigns.com/

Let’s welcome Bill Walker to “I Read” , he is going to answer some questions about his writing as well as his new published book “A Note from an Old Acquaintance”

ME:  Was this a story that you have been thinking about writing for a while before you sat down to write it or did it just hit you with a force that you just had to get it all out?

Bill: My stories tend to germinate for a while. This was the one that stayed in the back of my mind for many years. I think a part of that was that I needed to be ready as a writer to tackle it.

ME: Did anything in the story turn out different than what you intended or did any of you characters/story evolved on their/its own?

 

BILL: The character of Erik was originally much more malevolent and after a couple of drafts I realized that he had to change, become a bit more sympathetic. Part of that was to head off  reader’s thoughts about why Joanna would stay with a guy like that for so long, as she is much too intelligent to be that clueless. The other aspect is that in making him more sympathetic his character became a richer one, more complex. And that was very rewarding.

ME: Did you have to do any research while writing? How did that impact the book?

BILL: While I lived in boston for many years, I realized early on that I could not rely strictly on memory. The city’s changed over the years in many ways , and I had to research what existed in the city in 1991. Sometimes I was surprised to find out that a certain landmark was gone by then or hadn’t yet existed. Google maps helped a great deal as did going on to the Newbury Street League’s Website, there they have a wonderful “Walk Down Newbury” feature that allows one to take a virtual stroll up or down the street. It was invaluable.

ME: What is your favorite aspect of “A Note From An Old Acquaintance”?

BILL: My favorite aspect of the book is the relationship between Joanna and Brian. For them it is more than just the mutual attraction, it is also the mutual respect they have for each other’s art and talent.

ME: Is this your first book? What other books have you written?

BILL: I’ve published four books. Two of them were collections of scary short stories for kids aged 9 – 13: “Five Minute Frights” and it’s sequel, “Five minute Chillers“. I was actually hired by a book packager to write them and that was my “baptism of fire” into the world of publishing. As for novels, I’ve written five of them. Two remain unpublished. The other ones are “Titanic 2012” and “Camp Stalag“.

ME:  When is this book coming out? or is it already in the market?

BILL:A Note from an Old Acquaintance” is already out since June this year.

ME: We readers always like to know what kind of book do you read and who are your favorite authors?

BILL: I read whatever interests me, but I love thrillers, some kind of mysteries, love stories, horrors, science fiction, biographies and history. My favorite authors are Stephen King , Dean Koontz , Jack Finney and Richard Matheson.

ME: What are your goals now that you have finished this book?

BILL: Right now, my goal is to get the word out and hopefully make this book as successful as it can be.

Thanks Bills Walker for this opportunity to interview you and also for the book for review.

If you are interested in reading my review of Bill Walker’s “A Note from an Old Acquaintance” pls. visit here:  http://sumanam.wordpress.com/2009/11/05/bill-walkers-a-note-from-an-old-aquaintance-my-review/

old_acquaintance

Thanks Tracee from Pump Up Your Book Promotion for arranging this interview.

