Category:
BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Format:
HARDCOVER BOOK
Publish Date:
4/1/2010
Price:
$24.99/$29.99
ISBN:
9780316068284
Pages:
272

THE BOOK:

 

Kristin van Ogtrop knows she’s lucky–fulfilling career, great husband, three healthy kids, and, depending on the hamster count, an impressive roster of pets. She also knows she is tired. Always.

Using stories and insights from her own life, she provides a lexicon for the half-insane working mom. Anyone who has left a meeting to race to the Halloween parade immediately understands van Ogtrop’s definition of “Kill the messenger” as “The action you must take in order to forget about the office for a time–that is, to remove your Blackberry/Treo/iPhone/whatever from your person and store it as far away as your neurotic self will allow.” Filled with essays, lists, and resonant observations, JUST LET ME LIE DOWN establishes van Ogtrop as the Erma Bombeck of the new millennium.

MY THOUGHTS:

The best thing about ths book is:  it’s not a self-help book..it’s a fun, witty, and insightful read for working moms who will be able to relate with her little anecdotes. Kristin Van Ogtrop takes everyday life of an working mom that is delightful and rewarding as well as frustrating..She takes examples from her personal, working, and family life to create a witty and thorough dictionary of words and definitions that may just become part of every working moms language.

Now the overlooked scene from the book :  This book is obviously not targeted towards the stay-at home mothers..I consider myself as a stay -at -home -mother, though I work, the reason is I work only 3 days a week and and mornings only, I am home at 1:30… so the time I am away from home doesn’t affect anybody in my family, my 8yr old is at school and 3yr old is at preschool and I pick the little on up when I am coming home… so my sons are not in day care they don’t even face any of the consequences of a working mother..This book ” Let Me Lie Down” is a lot based on  the author’s hectic schedule, mothers who work everyday 9-5.. Though on her behalf I must mentiion, she was kind to stay-at-home mothers and working mothers alike. She seems to pity us all while using a slightly self-deprecating and self-absorbed voice.

I believe all mothers are working moms whether you are a S-A-H-M or working part-time like me or working  from home or fully 9-5 jobs.. it doesn’t matter you are on call 24/7 for the kids…and we all have an urge to lie down for a little while from time to time…

About the Author
Kristin van Ogtrop is the editor of Real Simple magazine and has held positions at Glamour, Vogue, Travel & Leisure, and Premiere. She
lives outside New York City with her family.

GIVEAWAY:

March 26th – March 30th

* 3 Copies for grabs

* Only residents of U.S. & Canada

* No P.O. Boxes

* Leave your Email-id

* I would love to hear why you want this book

Thanks Anna @ Hachett for the book and the giveaway.

