“Admissions. Admission. Aren’t there two sides to the word? And two opposing sides…It’s what we let in, but it’s also what we let out.”

For years, 38-year-old Portia Nathan has avoided the past, hiding behind her busy (and sometimes punishing) career as a Princeton University admissions officer and her dependable domestic life. Her reluctance to confront the truth is suddenly overwhelmed by the resurfacing of a life-altering decision, and Portia is faced with an extraordinary test. Just as thousands of the nation’s brightest students await her decision regarding their academic admission, so too must Portia decide whether to make her own ultimate admission.

Admission is at once a fascinating look at the complex college admissions process and an emotional examination of what happens when the secrets of the past return and shake a woman’s life to its core.

MY THOUGHTS:

When I signed up for the copy of this particular book, I didn’t know what to expect from it !!! I signed up for two words that striked me “Admission” & “College”.. no I am no going to College and my kids are 8 & 3, we have a long way to go before the admission process begins.. but just as any other parent these two words somewhat terrifies me, bothers me and some times keeps me thinking …what the future hold for my children ???

Admission provides a very insightful and interesting light into the world of academics and the process of selecting students into the best of best known as the “Ivy League”  Universities. Jean Hanff Korelitz along with her  background as an outside reader for Princeton’s Office of Admission, has also done a great deal of research in writing this book and it shows.  Her insider background has worked both as an advantage and disadvantage for this book. The advantage is  I enjoyed hearing all about the intricate details and getting an insider’s look into something I am so eager to know but the disadvantage is it was too detailed for a fiction and sometimes too overwhelming for the storyline.

The story at certain places lacked emotion but I liked the main character “Portia” and  I got really invested in what will become of her ??  Admission is not a fast -paced novel. It is about Portia and her reflections on her life and the life-altering choices she has to make.

Overall it’s an intelligent book with an in-depth concept and boy, am I glad I am not getting into College  ? You bet I am on the other hand I am so worried about the future of my children !!!

ABOUT AUTHOR:

Jean Hanff Korelitz was born and raised in New York and graduated from Dartmouth College and Clare College, Cambridge. She is the author of one book of poems, THE PROPERTIES OF BREATH, and three previous novels, A JURY OF HER PEERS, THE SABBATHDAY RIVER and THE WHITE ROSE, as well as a novel for children, INTERFERENCE POWDER. She has also published essays in the anthologies MODERN LOVE and BECAUSE I SAID SO, and in the magazines VOGUE, REAL SIMPLE, MORE, NEWSWEEK, ORGANIC STYLE, TRAVEL AND LEISURE (FAMILY) and others.

You can visit Jean here: http://www.jeanhanffkorelitz.com and listen to Jean’s interview here: www.blogtalkradio.com/grandcentralpub interview with Jean

DETAILS:

Category:
FICTION
Format:
TRADE PAPERBACK
Publish Date:
4/8/2010
Price:
$14.99/$17.99
ISBN:
9780446540711
Pages:
464

The Reading Group Guide provided by Hachett can be found here:

http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/_assets/guides/ARG_9780446540711.pdf

Now the GIVEAWAY:

April 14th – April 18th

  • 3 Copies
  • U.S. & Canada only
  • No P.O. Boxes
  • Leave your Email-Id

Thanks to Valerie @ Hachett for this book and the giveaway.

