Tags

GUEST POST by PAULA QUINN :

What inspires me to keep on writing?
 
Love, passion, and the characters in my head gently intruding on every moment of my life. I once read that we don’t choose to write. Writing chooses us, In my case, at least, this is very true. I don’t think I could ever stop even if I wanted to. My muse is aroused by music, art, an expressive face I see on the street or on television…and mostly, by history and romance. Put those two together and I’m inspired.
 
Like the rest of us, I, too, need a little escape from life’s daily grind and reading was just never enough.  There was always a pull to create my own stories. (which probably explains my obsession with pens and fancy notebooks) As a child I daydreamed about castles and knights who didn’t slay dragons but defended them. When I wasn’t pretending to be Jeannie Nelson from I Dream Of Jeannie, I was the next best thing. A princess. Is it any wonder that I’m an historical romance writer today? I didn’t have a choice. I still don’t. I love the past. I love the thought of heroes with a deep sense of honor and heroines who are strong and unafraid of loving an even stronger alpha male.
 
In my newest release, Ravished By A Highlander, Rob MacGregor is the firstborn son of my all time favorite character Callum MacGregor from Laird Of The Mist. Rob is the type of hero I adore, the strong, silent, sexy kind of man who is devoted to the people and things he loves. He doesn’t need validation for his decisions, even when he begins to fall for a woman with a secret that could destroy his clan. Davina Montgomery brings unwanted danger to his life…and much needed laughter, and Rob is willing to give all to keep her safe and make her his. It’s romantic, and that’s me, a sappy, romantic who cries at diamond ring commercials. My stories are not just about sex but deep, committed love. Really, what’s sexier than a man who is willing to fight an army for the woman he loves? As long as there are men in head like Rob, I’ll always be inspired to write.
 
Look for Seduced By A Highlander, my September release and book 2 in my Children Of The Mist series. It features Tristan MacGregor, an unrepentant, golden-tongued rogue who, with the help of his clan’s worst enemy, Isobel Fergusson, discovers a knight in shining armor beneath all his swagger.
Thanks so much Paula for writing this inspiring post.
 
 

 

The Story:

Davina Montgomery is no ordinary English lady. For her own protection, she’s been locked away from society, her true identity the Crown’s most closely guarded secret. Until a shocking betrayal–and a bold rescue–land her in the arms of a fierce Highlander, a powerful warrior whose searing gaze and tantalizing touch awaken her body and soul.

As the firstborn son of a powerful Scottish laird, Robert MacGregor has no loyalty to the English throne, but he’s not the kind of man to leave a woman in distress, even if she is English. He vows to deliver Davina to safety, unharmed and untouched. Yet one stolen kiss leaves them both smoldering with desire…and desperate for more. With Davina’s secret threatening to destroy his clan, Rob must choose between everything he holds dear and the one woman he can’t live without.

MY THOUGHTS:

This is an very exciting story with a combination of love, passion against duty towards ones family and society. There are real historical facts mixed with fiction here. This is my first time reading Ms. Quinn’s book and I liked it. Ravished By A Highlander is the first of the Children of the Mist series.  The next book titled “Seduced By A Highlander” featuring Rob’s amorous younger brother Tristan MacGregor  will be coming. I don’t want to write much about book, as I think I will be giving out details.. so why don’t you go ahead and get the book and also there are 5 copies up for grabs here..

DETAILS:

Title: Ravished by a Highlander
Author: Paula Quinn
Category: FICTION, ROMANCE
Format: MASS MARKET
Edition: Forever Special Release
Publish Date: 5/1/2010
Price: $6.99/$8.99
ISBN: 9780446552387
Pages: 352

GIVEAWAY:

April 28th – May  5th

  • 5 Copies for grabs.
  • U.S. & Canada only.
  • No P.O. Boxes
  • Leave your email-id.

Thanks to Anna Balasi@Hachett for the review copy and the giveaway as well as for arranging the guest post.

